A captivating image of a riverside alleyway has taken the top prize in the 2023 Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards.

Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner congratulated local photographer, Conner Gouws on his win, which included a $5000 cash prize.

“Brisbane is absolutely brimming with talent and creativity,” Cr Schrinner said.

“Conner’s photo of a riverside alleyway, nestled within city streets, captures a peaceful stillness that’s removed from the hustle and bustle.

The 2023 theme ‘Rediscover Brisbane’ encouraged photographers to share their own unique view of Brisbane and we received more than 2000 individual entries.

This year’s category winners have done an incredible job of capturing Brisbane through their own lens.

From the quiet beauty of Brisbane streets to vibrant multicultural celebrations and photos that unravel the untold stories of residents.”

Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner encouraged residents to jump online and cast their vote to help decide the winner of the 2023 People’s Choice Award.

“Voting is now open for the People’s Choice Award, which comes with a $1500 cash prize,” Cr Schrinner said.

“There are 24 images in the running. I encourage everyone to jump online and vote for their favourite photograph.”

The winning images and finalists’ photos for the People’s Choice Award can be viewed in person at the Brisbane Square Library or the People’s Gallery in Brisbane City Hall Library.

For more information and to cast your vote in the People’s Choice Award, visit brisbane.qld.gov.au and search ‘People’s Choice Award’.

Voting for the People’s Choice Award will close at 4pm on Friday 18 August.

Winners of the Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards 2023:

  • Open category, $5000 – Conner Gouws
  • Open category first runner-up, $2000 – Rosemary Featherstone
  • Open category second runner-up, $1000 – Tae Young
  • Green Heart category, $1500 – Trevor Petersen
  • Student category, $1500 – Tapash Alister
  • Social Media category, $1500 – Jane Hatzl
  • LaVonne Bobongie Award, $1500 – Daniel Fewquandie
  • People’s Choice Award, $1500 – voting open now!